Austin Agile DevOps

DevOps in the Cloud
posts - 70 , comments - 7 , trackbacks - 0

What Happens to TFS when an Active Directory account gets deleted?

There are at least three scenarios that deserve mention:

1. Existing data
It doesn't cause an issue. TFS caches the name->SID mapping in the database. If the accounts go away, existing work items/source control history aren't changed.

2. Checked out files
Bottom-line: we need to ensure that there are no files checked out for an account that is to be deleted. You could run into trouble if files are checked out under an account that is deleted and a new account with the exact same name (but different SID) is created before an admin forces an "undo checkout" on those files. What you got was files that were permanently checked out.

3. Migration to TFS
When the TFS Integration Platform tools are used to migrate source code to TFS and the adaptor cannot find the account ID in the source record, the account running the migration is used as the “default” account. So for example, when migrating the change records made by BGONE from Subversion to TFS, the change records are tagged in TFS with TFSTOOLS because my account was used to run the migration.

Print | posted on Wednesday, June 22, 2011 2:25 PM | Filed Under [ Agile SCM Talk Blog ]

Feedback

No comments posted yet.
Post A Comment
Title:
Name:
Email:
Comment:
Verification:
 

Powered by: