Geeks With Blogs
Visual Studio ALM Blog by Jahangeer

Let us see what’s new in Team Build 2010 by having a look at Build definition window page by page.


This is a page where you have to mention your Build definition name and its description. There are no changes here.


Here you will find that there’s a new trigger type called Gated Check-in. In this trigger type, the build happens first instead of check-in, and the Check-in will happen only if the build gets successful or else the changes will not be checked in and will be reverted back.


Not much changes here except a new button to “Reset to Default Workspace”.

Build Defaults:

There are few changes here, one is the ability to not use a drop location. Because Lab Management builds which introduced in TFS 2010 doesn’t require drop locations. That means, this applies only if you are using Lab Management Template.

If you use the default template or upgrade template, then you need to mention the drop location either here or when the build is queued, otherwise the build will fail.


This page has major changes, is has a new Process page which replaces the Project File page from Visual Studio 2008.This page contains information on exactly how and what the build will do.

The build process template option lets you to choose the template which can be used for the builds. It contains two templates Upgrade and Default. This template defines the logical flow of the build process. The template defines when and where everything is done and in what order things will happen in builds. You can also add your own templates. The version control path of these templates is: ($/TeamProject/BuildProcessTemplates)

The template works similar to what Microsoft.TeamFoundation.Build.targets file does in TFS 2008. If you want to control what the build does, you have to understand these templates.

The other thing on this page is the Build Process Parameters property grid. It shows the process parameters they are the values which you can pass into the process template when build executes. These parameters can change the way the build executes.

The parameters has been into three categories: Required, Basic and Advanced 

The default template defines the parameters it requires in the required category (eg: Items to build) which is a required Item. Here you can specify the Solutions files which you want build.


The other parameters either can default values or are simply optional(Automated Tests, Build Number Format, etc.).

You may also want to know about Advanced category. It contains many properties that you should only change if you are sure you understand what they do. Every template can define its own set of parameters. Try changing from the default template to the Upgrade template. You will notice almost all the parameters are changed.

Retention Policy:

This page did change quite a bit. It provides the ability to specify separate retention policies for Private builds (private builds are “buddy builds” of a shelveset that do not produce drops normally) and also specification of exactly what to delete (or what to keep).  The retention policy column is the same as it was in 2008.






Posted on Saturday, July 3, 2010 1:07 AM Team Fondation Server | Back to top

Comments on this post: What’s new in TFS 2010 Build Definition

No comments posted yet.
Your comment:
 (will show your gravatar)

Copyright © Jahangeer | Powered by: